31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 30

30 Oct

Wow just one more day to go! I’m pretty glad, because as you’ll see today, my poor poor hands are getting pretty beaten-up. I’m not sure if it’s the challenge, extra housework, or an overly zealous bitey-kitten; it doesn’t matter. All I know is that they’re getting worse and worse every day >_<

Today’s challenge was ‘inspired by a tutorial’, so I went back to the first nail-arty thing I came across online that actually made me curious about nail art (as opposed to straight nail polish). It was a picture I saw on Tumblr, by the marvellous Nailside. She has quite a few tutorials on her site, as well as heaps of other designs, but I wanted to stick with the original one – her freehand cloud design!

Here is my not-so-perfect rendition.

The brushes on the polishes I chose weren’t really the best shape for this design, because they were quite flat. However, now that I know how truly easy this is, I won’t hesitate to try it again with round-brushed polishes :3

I used three “Cairuo” polishes. I suspect these are just re-branded CR (or Care Romeis) polishes, as the symbol and ingredients are exactly the same. But these bottles are a thousand million times cuter, so I was sucked in. And hey, at only $2 each, you can’t argue. The colours are #34 (dark brown), #16 (sky blue), and #33 (the lighter taupe and my favourite).

I plan on returning to the store where I found these, and getting heaps more.

-Del x

Pst… See how beat-up my fingers are getting? 😦

 

13 Responses to “31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 30”

  1. Anastacia Cooke October 30, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    I have the pastels from this range… they are *adorable*.

    • Delindel October 30, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Aren’t the bottles just the cutest?! I need more! Hehe 😀

  2. Holly October 30, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Looks so great!! I love the blue, totes going to buy it now! 🙂

    • Delindel October 30, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

      Ooh I hope you can find it somewhere! I get these polishes at little dollar stores here in Auckland 😀

  3. vonimoller October 30, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    I love the colours you used!!!!
    No I don’t see how beat up they are???? Mine are extremely dry as we moving from winter to spring and URG hands SO dry 😦

    • Delindel October 30, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Hehe we’re moving from winter to spring as well. Around the edges of my nails I’m having a lot of trouble with my skin cracking and bleeding, even though my hands aren’t dry. I dunno why it’s happening 😦

  4. everysensory October 31, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    Your hands look fine, and that mani is so cute! I’ve been resisting that new CR range, although they are SO cute. And they have greens I dont have. But… what if they’re all recalled for pthalates tooooo? Are, stuff it, I’ll get some and just paint my nails outside, away from the kids 😀 You’ve twisted my bendy rubber arm 😀 Oh, try Tiny Hands from Lush if you can get into town and get a sample, it’s the only thing that stops my fingers splitting once they start. OUCH.

    • Delindel October 31, 2012 at 8:28 am #

      Ooh thanks for the tip! Next time I’m near a Lush I’ll grab some. UGH I KNOW aren’t the bottles too adorable?! I love the display as well. I NEED MOAR! I always paint in a well ventilated room anyway…

      • everysensory October 31, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

        Its just a giant gorgeous rainbow. Unfair marketing 😀 MOAR must be had. And now that I see they work well. well, it’s all over for me. Resistance was futile 😀

      • Delindel October 31, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

        Trying to resist polish is always futile 😀

      • everysensory November 1, 2012 at 6:22 am #

        It is. It really is. Still, I try.. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CR Cairuo Polish Haul « DomesticMinxes - November 4, 2012

    […] a little post today to show off my haul of Cairuo polishes! You may remember that on day 30 of the challenge, I used three of these little polishes for the cloud design. Well, I fell so in love with them that […]

  2. CR Cairuo Polish Haul SWATCHES « DomesticMinxes - November 8, 2012

    […] now #34, the darker brown that was featured in the cloud design I did here. Two coats, nice and simple, no hassles with streaking or […]

Leave a Reply

