31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 25

25 Oct

Phwoar we are getting so close to the end of this challenge I can practically taste it! I have a few things for you today, starting with something non-related to the challenge but completely exciting.

FLOAM!

My bottle of Floam arrived yesterday from Ninja Polish, and I was so excited that I had to take off my Tamora Pierce nails to try it out! As you may know, I’m on extreeeeemely limited polish-buying privileges at the moment due to my lack of income (le sad), but I snuck this one in when I received a ‘back-in-stock’ email from Ninja Polish. I still don’t know if the Husband has even noticed yet. HA!

Flooooooam!

Anyway, today’s challenge was ‘inspired by fashion’, which really stumped me. I’m not into fashion at all really, so I had to go from my limited knowledge gleaned from general internet-surfing. I noticed a while ago that fishtail braids were everywhere on Tumblr, so figured that was some kind of fashion. So I gave them a go on my nails!

…and then smashed them up and ruined them. They were bumpy as hell anyway, and the pink annoyed me because it just dominated everything. I was terrified that it was going to stain my nails and I’d have pink stripes when I removed it, but luckily I had started with two coats of the silver. Phew! These colours were Kleancolor Pearl Silver, Metallic Aqua and Metallic Fuchsia. Not my favourite mani, next time I think I’ll use thinner and less metallic polishes.

So I took it off and tried to find some different inspiration. My last job was at Overland, a footwear company here in NZ. One major trend I remember from LAST summer’s shoes was colour-blocking, which I quite liked the look of. Plus I like shoes more than clothes. I went hunting online (aka Google Image search), and found these shoes in a colour combo that appealed to me.

Click for source

I wouldn’t be able to walk in those, but damn if they aren’t beautiful.

As ever, it’s simple and easy for me. And yet I still manage to mess things up >_< I used tape for the pink down the bottom, but didn’t feel like waiting for stuff to dry so free-handed the blue. Hence the uneven-ness. You get the idea though right? Colours were Jordana Pink Lemonade, Jordana Tangy and China Glaze First Mate. I quite like these nails, I think they’re pretty cute, but also bold :3

As a final touch I added a coat of Essie’s Matte About You, since the shoes that inspired them were suede.

Aaaaaand that’s it. That’s what’s on my nails right now.

Fashion is hard -_-‘

-Del x

Pssst… Shiny or matte?

 

 

 

11 Responses to “31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 25”

  1. Korrinna October 25, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Matte!!! I need me some matte now

    • Delindel October 25, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      I got mine from Candy Girl! A little pricey, but worth it. Otherwise you can try Head2Toe, I’m not sure what it would work out to with shipping but you might save a bit :3

  2. everysensory October 25, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    Matte! And…. FFLLLOOOOAAAAMMM! 😀

    • Delindel October 25, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Flooooooooaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmm!!!!!
      Hahaha I love it 😀

  3. vonimoller October 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    To be honest, I LOVE matt & AM still looking for a matt top coat here in SA.

    And I really love the fish braids. Would LOVE to try that but have no idea how LOL. Anyway rocks. The colour blocking looks great too. Can barely notice the unevenness

    • Delindel October 25, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      I love matte too, it’s a great way to completely change the look of a mani with minimal effort! Hehe. I’m not sure what sorts of polishes are available over there, but if you can get it I definitely recommend the Essie Matte About You! It’s super easy to work with and has a proper matte effect. Some other brands have “matte top coats” that don’t really mattify properly.
      As for the fishtail nails, I found this tutorial here that should help you out! 😀

  4. Anastacia Cooke October 25, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I think you can get a chichi matte for around $15 from Farmers. I’m waiting till I have some disposable income to get the chichi 6 pack of crackle colours. I bought their magnetic ones and they’re awesome.

    • Delindel October 26, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Yeah I always admire the Chichi stands at Farmers, but I think I’ve only got one of their polishes! I do really like it though. Do you know if their matte works though? Lots of “matte” polishes give more of a satin effect than a true matte, and I wouldn’t wanna pay $15 for a matte that doesn’t matte! >_<

  5. Jessie October 28, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Omg! You have floam AND matte polish! I’ve been wanting these for ages! Is floam as good as all the hype?

    • Delindel October 28, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Floooooam! I adore it! It looks awesome by itself (as shown up there), but it also looks cool layered too! I’m hoping to do a whole post dedicated to its awesome :3
      Also, the Essie matte might be a little pricey but it’s definitely worth it! Try Candy Girl (that’s where I got mine), or Head2Toe. I’ve had my bottle for aaaages and barely dented it, so the higher price is still justifiable.

      • Jessie October 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

        You totally should! Hmmm, I may just have to do that! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

