31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 24

24 Oct

Today’s challenge was inspired by a book, which made it difficult for me to choose! I started out with this simple design based on my of my favourite series, The Wind on Fire by William Nicholson. Specifically I took the design from the first book, The Wind Singer.

Image from Amazon.co.uk

I found the rustiest red I have (I don’t have many), then attempted the Wind Singer’s voice on my ring finger.

Yeaaahh that was okay. I used Kleancolor Dark Cherry and Revlon Silver Dollar for this. Anyway, I did some chores and it got munched up, so I decided to do some nail maintenance. I’ve been trying to grow out some yellow since June (curse you, beautiful China Glaze Ahoy!), so I’ve been periodically chopping my nails off. Wanna see how they look naked?!

This was post-chopping obviously. The yellow is sloooooowly going away >_< Anyway I felt sad with naked nails so thought I’d have another go at today’s challenge using some different inspiration – this time a series from one of my favourite authors evaaar, Tamora Pierce. I swear there’s only about 3 books of hers that I don’t yet have :3 And yes I’m aware that they’re aimed at people younger than me, I’ve loved them since they were age-appropriate for me and I will always love them… Don’t judge me, I’m an adult really I am!

Sidetracked! I chose the first series from her Circle universe, the Circle of Magic, for inspiration.

If you’ve read the series, I think you’ll get this. However if you haven’t… Basically each of my nails was inspired by one of the four main characters of the series, and my thumbnail shows the circle thread that binds their powers together. My index finger represents Sandry, who has power with thread (sounds lame but can be pretty badass). My middle finger represents Briar, who has power over plants and is the only boy of the group. My ring finger represents Tris, who has power over weather and can see magic (hence the sparkles by the lumpy lightning bolt – apparently my yellow paint is a pain in the butt to work with). And my pinky represents Daja, who has power with smithing and fire.

Yaaaaay. Base colours were (thumb to pinky) China Glaze Liquid Leather, OPI I Don’t Give a Rotterdam, China Glaze Starboard, Color Club Wild Orchid, and China Glaze Life Preserver. The rest was done with a bunch of acrylic paints.

I think after I finish re-reading Harry Potter for the thousandth time I’ma go through all my Tamora Pierce books again.

…I kinda already miss how long my nails were. But at least they’ll grow back soon, right?

-Del x

Pstt… What sort of books do you guys like reading? I’m pretty much a 100% fantasy girl.

7 Responses to “31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 24”

  1. vonimoller October 24, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Firstly I love the nails! SO creative!!!
    Your nails tells a story!! 😀

    I like reading fantasy books and then sci-fi/suspense/thrillers like Dean Koontz. Currently reading his Lost souls book.

    • Delindel October 24, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      Hehe thanks, I had fun with these designs :3
      Sounds good, I may have to check that one out!

  2. Rose @ The Cosy Dragon October 24, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Love them! I love the nails and the books. I wish I was so good at nail art.

    I’ve actually reread both of those sets of books recently. I promise if you stop by my blog, you’ll find a bunch more things fantasy that you might like.

  3. Anastacia Cooke October 25, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    ❤ Tamora Pierce. Her Lioness series kept me going throughout highschool.

    • Delindel October 25, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      Yeah her Tortall books were the first ones I ever read, but it was a bit harder to come up with a design for them 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 25 « DomesticMinxes - October 25, 2012

    […] bottle of Floam arrived yesterday from Ninja Polish, and I was so excited that I had to take off my Tamora Pierce nails to try it out! As you may know, I’m on extreeeeemely limited polish-buying privileges at the […]

  2. 31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 25 « DomesticMinxes - October 25, 2012

    […] bottle of Floam arrived yesterday from Ninja Polish, and I was so excited that I had to take off my Tamora Pierce nails to try it out! As you may know, I’m on extreeeeemely limited polish-buying privileges at the […]

Leave a Reply

