31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 23

23 Oct

Day 23 calls for inspiration from a movie… Some of you may know that I spent years studying Japanese at university. Let me tell you, it’s tough to come out of there without a healthy (or not) adoration of Hayao Miyazaki films. I took inspiration from the classic and adorable Tonari no Totoro ^_^

I’m still improving on my drawing skills, but I think these are cute and more successful than yesterday’s last-minute design. Though I think next time I could even skip Totoro and just concentrate on the Susuwatari (the soot sprites), because they’re awesome and require less drawing skill. Teehee!

I used Australis Sweetpea as base, and Color Club Wild Orchid for Totoro’s grey body. The rest was done with black and white acrylic paints.

Tomorrow’s challenge is inspired by a book, which is guna be tough for me because I looooooooooove so many books! >_<

-Del x

6 Responses to “31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 23”

  1. everysensory October 23, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Super cute! 😀

  2. vonimoller October 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    This is your BEST work so far! ADORE this

  3. vonimoller October 23, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    This is your BEST work! Really ADORE it! Great job!

    • Delindel October 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Yaaaay thank you so much!! I love them too, especially the soot sprites :3 Don’t wanna take them off… Hehe!

  4. vonimoller October 23, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    Ps: sorry for commenting twice URG *facepalm*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CR Cairuo Polish Haul SWATCHES « DomesticMinxes - November 8, 2012

    […] Then #16, a pastel sky blue that was also featured in the cloud design. A welcome addition to my collection because shockingly enough, I didn’t actually have a sky blue creme (which I discovered when rummaging for one to do my Totoro nails…) […]

Leave a Reply

