Del’s Cheese and Bacon Scrolls Recipe

21 Aug

Om nom nom! It’s been a while since I’ve posted something other than nails, so I thought I’d give it a stab to prove I don’t just sit around painting my nails all day. Sometimes I hang out in the kitchen! I can’t take full credit for these tasties – my awesomesauce sister was bragging on Facebook about hers so I stole her recipe. It’s just a basic scone recipe, but I thought I’d share because everybody loves cheese and bacon. Plus they’re rolled into scrolls instead of just a lumpy mclumplump scone lump.

I also managed to get a few pictures for you. Because you know, I love you and stuff โค

YOU WILL NEED!

  • 3 cups of self-raising flour (or plain flour with baking powder if you run out like I sometimes do)
  • 4 pieces of bacon, chopped into bits (or more… or less?)
  • pinch of salt
  • 50g butter (or margarine if you’re lazy)
  • 2 cups of grated cheese (I don’t measure, I guess I use about 250g because it’s usually half a 500g block)
  • ~350mL of milk (again, not precise. I add it a little at a time until the mix is doughy)
  • OPTIONAL – tasty herbs!
  1. Preheat oven to 220 C.
  2. Sift flour and salt into bowl.
  3. Rub in the butter until the mix is crumbly. Kinda like this:
  4. Mix in enough milk to make it doughy and good for the kneading.
  5. Knead on a floured board (or bench).
  6. Rollย it out into a rectangle approximately 40 x 25cm. If you’re like me, just guess:
  7. Spread the bacooon!
  8. Sprinkle on MOST of the cheese, save a little bit though.
  9. Now, if you so choose, add the OPTIONAL tasty herbs! I usually use a mix of oregano, basil and parsley. But whatever you like ๐Ÿ™‚
  10. Now roll the whole thing from the long side to make an attractive sausage.
  11. Cut it into slices about 3-4 cms wide. The number of scones I make varies on how I’m feeling, I’ve been known to make 10, but also known to make 16 from the same recipe.
  12. Place them cut-side up on a greased tray (or a tray lined with baking paper), then sprinkle the extra cheese on top.
  13. Bake 15-20 mins or until they look delicious!

They don’t look overly attractive but they’re tasty as all hell, and the Husband gets through them mighty quick during the work week. I think he likes taking home-made stuff to work to show off that his wife-person loves him enough to bake.

This is a nice easy fool-proof recipe. They’re best when warm, we usually heat them up in the microwave for 20 seconds or so before eating them. Makes them extra nommy!

AND okay, I guess I’ll share ONE nail photo. This is what’s on my nails right now, sorry about the bad picture but it’s night-time >_<

This is Kleancolor Mocha as base, with stamping in China Glaze Foie Gras. The design is from plate BM313, and these (as I mentioned on Facebook) have been dubbed ‘Dinosaur Eggs’ by the Husband and his brother. And shockingly enough, the little brother even proclaimed them ‘quite cool’! Which is amazing because he generally thinks I’m insane/stupid about nails (and everything else). He did point out that it’s weird to spend so much time on them, but he admitted that the end result was cool.

My Dinosaur Eggs look much more awesome IRL than in that crappy photo! I mean, okay, yeah, it’s meant to be a giraffe pattern (I think), but dinosaur eggs sounds more epic.

DINOSAUR EGGS!

Heh heh.

See you all neeeext time~

-Del xx

Pssst… I updated my about page… it has a picture of a kitten on it!

4 Responses to “Del’s Cheese and Bacon Scrolls Recipe”

  1. everysensory August 22, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    Oooh, thanks, I’m so making those for my boys lunches! Yay! Love the dino eggs too…definitely eggs, not a giraffe. I betcha little Brother-in-Law has at least one obsessive hobby that costs FAR more and takes more time.. just a theory ๐Ÿ˜€

    • domesticminxes August 22, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      Yep, he’s a drummer! Haha >< let me know how yours turn out ๐Ÿ˜€
      -Del xx

  2. myfoxycorner August 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    These look and sound delicious! Will be trying them out ASAP! Also, happy to find another NZ blog!!!

    • domesticminxes August 30, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      Ooh thanks for stopping by and commenting! I’m always excited to meet other NZ bloggers, we seem to be few and far between. Most of the ones I’ve connected with are down Wellington-ways >_<
      I see that you're at Auckland Uni! I WENT THERE! Exciting ๐Ÿ˜€ I graduated this May ๐Ÿ™‚
      Lovely to hear from you ^_^
      -Del xx

Leave a Reply

