Delindel’s First Foray into Water-Marbling

24 Jul

Hey! Long time no see ^_^ (my bad). Today I thought I’d share my first attempts at something I’ve been meaning to try for literally EVER, but I’ve always been too lazy to actually get around to it. Water marbling!

I decided it was time to take the plunge. Since we’re in the throes of winter still, and I’m seeing beautiful neons and brights all over the internet, I decided to go for brights to cheer up my day ^_^ I opted for a white base because after the countless things I’ve seen about marbling I thought it would be better to go for sheerer slower-drying polishes. I chose pink and green, with a bit of orange πŸ™‚

Colours I chose were Jordana Sweet Orange; Pink Lemonade; and Rich Green.

Here’s my first bullseye ^_^ I forgot to take a photo of the pattern I did, oops! I went for a fairly simple sort of petalled design, taking direction from Collette’s many tutorials on YouTube.Β I love watching her videos, she makes it all look so easy! You should definitely check her out if you’re curious about water marbling πŸ™‚

Anyway, I taped off one finger and off I went!

First dip! Eek, good thing I taped so far down my finger XD

I think I did quite well with taping, there wasn’t much to clean up afterwards (huzzah!)

Post-cleaning ^_^ The mistake on the middle finger wasn’t an error in marbling – I dinged my white base before it dried, oops >_<

The claaaaaw!

I’m very pleased with my first attempt at marbling! And I’m definitely looking forward to doing more πŸ˜€

*happy sigh*

What do you guys think about this bright and vibrant look? I’m not used to having such neon-ish colours on my nails, I generally opt for more sedate or deeper richer colours (or glitter…). So even though I have quite a few bright polishes, they aren’t often used. This is a look a really like though, I would definitely use brights for marbling again πŸ˜€

I think I may even leave this on for a few days (SHOCK!) πŸ˜€

See you all next time ❀

-Del xx

3 Responses to “Delindel’s First Foray into Water-Marbling”

  1. everysensory July 25, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    Love this! I’ll have to check out the video, thanks for the link. I’ve been scared of marbling because it looks hard to clean up, and like it might use heaps of polish… did it? πŸ™‚

    • domesticminxes July 25, 2012 at 8:34 am #

      I wouldn’t say it used heaps, but I also wouldn’t rush to use my favourites or expensive polishes >< it was still less then I was expecting. I think it helped that I used the smallest dish possible, so that's my tip :3
      Clean up was actually really easy, much easier than expected. You should definitely give it a go! You have a great eye for colours and combinations, so I bet your attempts will look fantastic!
      -Del xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shopping with Del, and More Awesome Water-Marbling! « domesticminxes - July 28, 2012

    […] my first (quite) successful water marbling attempt, I was very keen to give it another […]

Leave a Reply

