Fruity Fimo Fun

17 Jun

*headdesk*

I’m not the best blogger lately, hmm. Ah well. Today I’m showing you my first experimenting with fimo sticks, and loose glitter (rather than glitter polish). This design is one of Violet’s, her tutorial is here on YouTube if you want to know how to do it. I did it pretty much the same. No point taking chances on a first try! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I only did one dip of the glitter though because my glitter was more opaque than hers.

It doesn’t look quite as nice on my short nails, but work has been so hard on them lately that I haven’t been able to grow them. Cry!

I thought I’d do something cute and summery because we’re in the depths of winter and it’s soooo cooooold here! Anyway, take a look~

The crap I used – Jordana Diamond Boost Hardener as base coat and sealant for glitter and fimo; Kleancolor #63 Pearl Pink because it was on my desk; pot of green “eyeshadow” glitter from random variety shop; Seche Vite to finish.

Oh and the Fimo fruit canes from Meliney (see order here). I opted to cut them with a mini craft knife. After a few tries I decided the easiest way to cut them was to hold them in my hand, and hold the knife still while twirling the cane until the knife hit my thumb. It’s not as dangerous as it sounds ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyway, this is what I ended up with!

Yeah?! Totally cute right? I was a bit annoyed though, I took the photos while everything was still freshly done so the Fimo wasn’t stuck down properly. Just so you know, I fixed that ๐Ÿ˜›

I absolutely adore that green glitter! :O

So, wasn’t that fun? The weather here has been super cold lately so I haven’t been doing my nails as often or as nicely, I find that in the cold air the polish just takes FOREVER to dry, regardless of brand or top coat. It really sucks spending ages painting your nails meticulously just to smudge them as soon as you breathe.

I’m hoping that once it starts raining the air will warm up a bit… Cross fingers eh?

I’m aiming to get back into the swing of things later this week. I really really miss posting regularly (rather than the ridiculously sporadic posts I’ve been offering up).

Talk soon!

-Del xx

6 Responses to “Fruity Fimo Fun”

  1. everysensory June 18, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    Oooh I love that! The colours, the glitter, the fact you still have a thumb… I’ll have to try that technique, I bought some mystery fimo sticks from Ebay but when I tried to slice it it was about a cm thick. Your way sounds better. Stay warm, it’s SO cold, enjoy snuggling into warm beds and heating, polish time will come again! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • domesticminxes June 18, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Hehe it took about two slices before I got the hang of it, but I found it a lot easier to control the thickness by holding it instead of resting it on a table. Maybe that’s just me… Lol. I can’t wait for it to start raining again! I don’t know about down where you live, but here in Auckland rain = humid = warmer air. Yay!
      -Del xx

  2. everysensory June 18, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    Ooh and I just bought Orly Sec’n’Dry (Farmers, $12 for a mini but its heaps) – and it works really fast and well. I normally smudge mine too, even with QD top coat, but this one seems faster than Orly In A Snap (my previous fave). ๐Ÿ™‚

    • domesticminxes June 18, 2012 at 8:16 am #

      Ooh, I actually have the Orly Sec’n’Dry in my stash too, but I’m still insanely partial to my Seche Vite. Maybe I’ll dig it out again and give it another go :3
      -Del xx

  3. Violet June 23, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    SO CUTE! It turned out really well, totally love it ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m suffering from winter polish drying fail too at the moment ;_:

    • domesticminxes June 27, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      Ooooh thank you! I can’t even begin to express how ridonk excited I am that you took the time to comment! (Don’t judge me for being psychotic…) Winter drying fail is really starting to get to me, my nails looked so sad and smudgy today ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      -Del xx

Leave a Reply

