Delindel’s Meliney Nail Art Supplies May Haul

3 Jun

Okaaaay, yeah it’s June now. And I’ve been super super duper slack these past few weeks. I blame not having daylight hours to do photos. My camera is a crappy little ancient point-and-shoot and it does horrible things with the artificial lighting in our house. Anyway, I have a LOT to catch up on, so please bear with me! You’ll be seeing quite a few nasty photos, that are also relatively old. I’m sure you’ll all survive though. Hopefully soon my work schedule will be changing and I’ll feel more inspired. It’s hard to be excited about blogging when you’re not feeling inspired.

Anywhooo, last month I made an order at the online nail art supply store Meliney because I desperately wanted to try some Konad and they are ridonk expensive here in NZ and on NZ websites. I came across the Meliney store through Youtube while watching endless screeds of nail art videos! Score! Wasting time on Youtube pays off! If you’re interested, the Meliney Youtube channel is here, they upload new nail art designs every week using supplies available from the store.

I’m pretty impressed with the service from Meliney. Everything was well packaged and exactly what I ordered, reasonable prices, and a wide range! Also, they ship from Australia and get here pretty darn quick (ordered Wednesday, shipped Thursday, arrived Saturday), with free shipping once your order hits a certain amount. Score!

I took the pluuunge~ Check out my first order! (There’s a second order to share later this week too 😉 )

Yaaaaay things! I shall point out the buffer and the rhinestone-picking pencil in the back now, because I forgot to take a close-up pic of them. Ha!

After Ami sent me those microbeads, I developed quite a crush on them. So I bought a nail wheel filled with pretty coloured microbeads! (I’ll be sharing my first tries with the microbeads later on – something to look forward to).

Some pre-sliced Fimo flowers~

Some not-sliced Fimo fruit sticks ^_^

Dotting tooooools! Something every nail fiend should have in her arsenal.

Some leetle detailing brushes. I love these! I plan on ordering more soon 😀

…And of course the main course, Konad! I didn’t much fancy the Konad special polish because I have so many bottles already in the same colours. So I opted to make do with my own polishes, and bought the scraper and stamper by themselves.

…With some plates obviously. This is m73.

m32

And s9. So cuuute!

*happy sigh* I’m loving all my nail art supplies. Yesterday I even got ambitious and attempted painting Totoro characters… I’ll share that one with you later, despite the fact that I’m truly an awful artist. Patterns and designs, yes I’m fine. But drawing characters? Nup. Maybe one day I’ll get better… But I doubt it. I’m a musician by art, not an artist 😉

Anyway here’s the first thing I did with the Konad. Note completely FIRST time trying stamping, so excuse the noobness. I’m getting much better already!

2 coats China Glaze Pelican Gray, with Santee Black for stamping. Design is from plate m73.

Those of you on Facebook would have seen these a while ago. Just goes to show how much I haven’t been lying about needing to get my crap together about blogging! Eeek!

I’ll figure myself out soon. Until then, I hope you enjoyed seeing my totally awesome haul. I know I’m enjoying playing with it! And all the other things I’ve bought since this order. Hmm.

Until next time!

-Del xx

11 Responses to “Delindel’s Meliney Nail Art Supplies May Haul”

  1. Zoe June 3, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Something I found with the metal Konad scraper thingie was that it scratched the image plate after a while. An old credit card or gift card works just as well but doesn’t scratch it.

    • domesticminxes June 3, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      Hi Zoe!
      Thanks for the tip, I have noticed some scraping already. It isn’t affecting the designs yet but I think in time it might. MaSucree had a cheaper Konad imitation plastic scraper that didn’t work well at all, but I think I may go dig out an old gift card and give it a whirl!
      Thanks for reading ❤
      -Del xx

  2. everysensory June 4, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Nice haul! And yay, more microbeads in BETTER colours! I love my dotting tools, I also found some fruit sticks but.. I can’t cut that thin, as it turns out XD. Love the stamping – esp for a muso 😀 I am going to check that website out nooww…

    • domesticminxes June 4, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      Dooooo it and order all the things! *poses dramatically*
      I haven’t actually tried cutting the fruit sticks yet, that’s on the agenda for tomorrow :3

      • everysensory June 5, 2012 at 7:16 am #

        ahahahaha Hyperbole and a Half reference! *Swoons happily* Let me know how that goes (the cutting of the sticks) – that site looks great, will def be ordering at least SOME of the things when I can 😉

      • domesticminxes June 5, 2012 at 9:38 am #

        psssst as a lady who uses polymer clay (thats the fancy term for fimo) be sure to use a very sharp knife!
        ❤ maSucree

  3. Lu June 14, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    Nice!! Jumping all over this site now! xx

  4. teamagination June 14, 2012 at 4:54 am #

    I’ve been almost-ordering Konad for a little while, thanks for sharing your results (so pretty!) – was it easy to apply?

    • domesticminxes June 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      Hi! Yeah it was much easier than I expected, I did a couple of trial nails but after two nails I was good to go! Since that first try I’ve become a bit addicted to stamping, it’s a super quick and easy way to get a neat artsy effect when I don’t have much time to do nail art.
      You should definitely cave and give it a go :3
      Thanks for reading!
      -Del xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fruity Fimo Fun « domesticminxes - June 17, 2012

    […] and the Fimo fruit canes from Meliney (see order here). I opted to cut them with a mini craft knife. After a few tries I decided the easiest way to cut […]

Leave a Reply

