The Quest for the Perfect Red Lipstick

10 Mar

Red lipstick when done properly can lift an outfit, amp up the sexy and add a wiggle to your step. When done badly it can make you look as though your little sister did you make up or even just plain trampy. It is one of those lipstick colours I have just avoided, I have rather plump lips so if I get colours wrong it really in your face XD

I love vintage and pin up so I have been on a quest for the perfect red lipstick for me. I have looked at other brands but they were a bit too expensive for me to splash on a red lipstick that might not be right. So off I rocked to the closest Jordana stand. They had quite a few different shades but it was Radiant Red that really caught my eye, for $3.00 NZD it wasn’t something to sweat about if it was wrong.

For my first attempt at buying a red lipstick and a $3.00 NZD one at that I am thoroughly pleased. Take a look at my swatches.

For such a stunning colour I sort of wish it had a little fancier packaging, but really you see the colour on my lips not the case.

The pigment of this lipstick is amazing O_O I couldn’t believe how intense it was even with just one swipe. It goes on like a dream and doesn’t dry my lips out.

The above photo is the lipstick with no lip liner. I decided that I would try a lip liner to see if it helped smooth out the edges.

Above is the lipstick with lip liner. The liner I purchased was Jordana Quickliner Lip Pencil is Scarlet. I think it really helped smooth out the edges as well as be a guide for me apply the lipstick πŸ™‚

So Radiant Red perfect red for MaSucree? Heck yes! Will I wear this to work? You bet :3 Quest over? Don’t be silly a girl can never have too much lipstick.

Hope you enjoyed my post, be brave and go find yourself a nice red to suit you. It really does make you feel good.

A Billion Stars!

❀ MaSucree

8 Responses to “The Quest for the Perfect Red Lipstick”

  1. love212 March 11, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    That shade looks great against your skin tone. I’m yet to find a red lipstick that doesn’t make me look like a clown!

    Elena x

    http://www.love212.org

    • domesticminxes March 11, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Hi Elena!
      Thank you very much! I think I was just lucky that the first shade I was brave with turned out to be perfect. I wish you luck on your lipstick quest πŸ˜‰
      ❀ MaSucree

      • love212 March 11, 2012 at 10:21 am #

        Thank you ;0)

  2. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge March 11, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Such a cute post πŸ™‚ Love the color, I was thinking maybe I’ll give a red a go πŸ™‚

    • domesticminxes March 11, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      Do it! Everyone needs a red lipstick!!!
      ❀ maSucree

  3. miriam March 11, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    that’s a really nice one. why do you always have all the luck?!

  4. Dizzy Nicky November 27, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    you might also like LA Colors in Strawberry Red. Has a vanilla scent like MAC lipsticks. I wear it with NYX lipliner in Cabaret

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maybelline Red Color Sensational Lipcolor Lipsticks – Review and Swatches « domesticminxes - April 19, 2012

    […] Red would have to be my favourite it is very close to the Jordana Radiant Red which I reviewed/swatched […]

Leave a Reply

