Where on Earth has Delindel Been?!

4 Mar

Oh hi! It’s been a while huh? Just letting you know I’m not dead, just very tired most of the time XD

I’ve been really busy aside from work, trying to keep up with all my social obligations. Sometimes it’s tough having friends 😉 They know I love them really. Balancing work, family stuff, friends and husband time, along with blogging and gaming (yeah, continued addiction) is hard, especially if you have tendencies towards laziness like I do >_<

Aside from all that, it was also Sir Husband’s and my first wedding anniversary at the end of last month and we went on a mini getaway. So I thought I’d share some photos from that with you! We have been together for 7 years now, and husband and wife for one of those years 😀

Anyway, getaway photos!

The first thing we did after Sir Husband got home from work was pack overnight bags (and I got a little dressed up), and then we headed out to The Langham hotel in Auckland City. It’s on Symonds St, if you’re curious. And can I just say, WOW! It was unequivocally the absolute best hotel experience either of us has ever had. SO MUCH nicer than the Sky City Grand, where we stayed on our wedding night.

Oh yeah complimentary bubbles!

So we checked in, dumped stuff in our room then ventured into the city for dinner. I was stupid enough to forget the camera (oops), but Sir Husband didn’t want to look tacky, bloggery, or touristy on our anniversary so he was happy. We ended up going to Tony’s on Lorne St for dinner, and our meals were divine. Plus since we got hungry so early we got the earlybird special, it’s always nice to save some money. I had a shrimp cocktail to start, with a nice juicy steak with salad for my main.

After dinner we wandered down to the waterfront and got ice creams from Valentinos Gelato in the old ferry building. We sat on the waterfront and had just decided to go for a walk when it started raining! So instead we thought we’d have an early night and we caught a bus back up to the hotel. We got completely saturated getting from the bus stop to the hotel though!

Sleepy Husband-in-an-elevator heading to breakfast ❤

The next day we woke up and had a full breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and it was the best breakfast I’ve ever had. Including Christmas breakfast. Sir Husband still keeps talking about it… “Remember the hash browns at The Langham?” and “OH I want some bacon like the bacon they had at The Langham!” Haha he’s adorable. But seriously, their restaurant Eight has AMAZING food, and I’m sure their other restaurants/bar are just as fantastic!

I adore pretty stationery ^_^

Even the room keys are pretty ^_^

After breakfast we got ready to check out, I took the opportunity to errr *cough* steal some pretty stationery and bathroom stuff. When we were checking out I mentioned that I loved the stationery and that the pens were beautiful, and the woman at the desk asked if I wanted one! Woo, free pretty pen!

Oops, sidetracked again. Anyway, we headed down to Hamilton Zoo, because I got a complimentary pass from my mum and also because we love zoos and zoos are awesome. Commence zoo photos here!! I heart lemurs and meerkats and pygmy marmosets! The siamangs were feeling particularly vocal that day too ^_^

I would like to take ALL THE PYGMY MARMOSETS HOME!

*flails*

Cotton-top tamarins ^_^ There was a mama tamarin with a baby on her back, but I didn't get a good photo of her.

Puffy lemur :3 The ring-tails were hiding in the trees.

Let's play 'Spot the Serval'

It was nice going to the zoo on a Monday because it meant it was nice and quiet and it was much easier to see the animals! The only ones we didn’t get to see were the tigers because their enclosure was being renovated or something. Oh well.

This is a male 'Himalayan Monal' - so many pretty colours!

Let us commence the meerkat love ❤

*giggles*

As always, if you want to see bigger photos, just click them :3

All in all, our little anniversary getaway was so much fun and we were super impressed with the hotel and restaurant we chose for dinner. If any of our Auckland readers are looking for a luxurious getaway close to home, the Langham is definitely worth splurging on! Especially if you go on an off-peak night and can get a good package deal. Check out their website!

I have a LOT of new nail polish and a few random haul-stuff to show off over the next few posts, I don’t know how spaced-out they’re going to be at this point. I’m working much more than normal this coming week so I’ll be heaps sleepy on my days off 😉

I hope you’re all doing well and I hope you enjoyed seeing another one of my little snapshot/adventure posts! They take a while to sort out but they’re my favourite kind 😀

Til next time~

-Del xx

3 Responses to “Where on Earth has Delindel Been?!”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge March 4, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Congrats on your anniversary. Very exciting get-a-way!!! Love the pictures.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Zo

    • domesticminxes March 4, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Thanks Zo ^_^
      That first year went by super quick! Hehe
      -Del xx

      • Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge March 5, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

        Oh my gosh, where does the time go, anyhow??? 😀

Leave a Reply

