DIY Sugar Scrub with Delindel

6 Feb

It’s summer here in New Zealand, my least favourite season for many many reasons. I prefer winter fashion, I hate getting hot and sunburnt and sticky, and I hate feeling like it has to be the “perfect summer” every year. Summer is just icky.
Physically one of my biggest problems with summer is that I always dry out, especially my legs and lips. No matter how well I look after my lips, they always end up sad and cracked in summer. And while I love Lush lip scrubs, with my money issues I can’t justify buying them when I could make my own with household ingredients!

So here’s a very simple quick lip scrub I made at home. It might not be the prettiest scrub around, but it works wonders and it tastes yummy too ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, you will need: olive oil, liquid honey, brown sugar, a teaspoon, and a dish/bowl for mixing.

Mix together one teaspoon each of the oil, honey and sugar. If you want a more heavy-duty scrub (like me!), add another half teaspoon of sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

As I said, it’s not the prettiest lip scrub. In this pic the oil is sitting a bit on the top, but it doesn’t affect how well it works on the lips.

Grab a fingerful and get scrubbing! Dry flakey lips are a thing of the past ๐Ÿ™‚

To remove, you can either wash the scrub off, remove it with a tissue… or lick it off (om nom nom).

Follow up with a dash of balm and your favourite lippy ^_^

Til next time!

-Del xx

P.S. Don’t forget to enter our giveaway! All you need to do is send your name and email to domestic.minxes@gmail.com with “giveaway” somewhere in the subject line, and you’re in the draw to win a $20USD gift voucher at Cherry Culture.

6 Responses to “DIY Sugar Scrub with Delindel”

  1. Lu February 6, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    You can also use vaseline instead of olive oil =) That’s how I make it ;o)

    • domesticminxes February 6, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      For some unfathomable reason I didn’t actually have any Vaseline in the house O_O Thanks for the tip though, maybe I’ll pick some up and give it a go ๐Ÿ˜€
      -Del xx

  2. dashinganddarling February 6, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this! I made a scrub and a toner on my blog check it out http://dashinganddarling.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/face-food/

    • domesticminxes February 6, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Sounds great, I might have to give those a go! Thanks for reading :3
      -Del xx

  3. TheForeverRemember February 6, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Reblogged this on TheForeverRemember.

Leave a Reply

