Reader Request: Dark Dark Blues!

30 Jan

We’ve had a reader asking about deep blue polishes, so I decided to swatch some today. I have a vast collection of blues, but I could only find four that kind of fit the limitations of “a really nice colour in that sort of vein… dark blue, like almost black sort of, but still blue.” One of them doesn’t really fit this description at all, but it’s so pretty I’m going to show it off anyway.

Now I know that Miss MaSucree has a much larger collection of colours-that-are-almost-black than I do, so I enlisted her help as well.

Right, so here’s mine:

L-R: Revlon Midnight Affair, LA Girl Deep Sea Mica, Kleancolor Metallic Navy, Kleancolor Retro Green.

Revlon Midnight Affair:

This is the one that I feel fits the requirements best (out of mine). Midnight Affair is a very very dark blue base with slightly brighter blue shimmer in it that only really shows up in the light. I’m pretty sure you can buy this one from Farmers (I got my bottle for free from my sister-in-law).

L.A. Girl Deep Sea Mica:

This is my include-it-because-it’s-pretty polish. Seriously, so gorgeous. Not quite dark enough for reader’s requirements though >_< I bought this one online from Cherry Culture.

Kleancolor Metallic Navy:

This one’s name says it all: it’s a gorgeous metallic navy polish that only needs one coat to look fantastic. This colour is a little harder to get hold of, luckily it’s available in New Zealand in a mini-set of Kleancolor metallics at Postie stores for $10 (for 6 mini bottles).

Kleancolor Retro Green:

This one is the first colour I thought of on receiving the request (until I remembered the Revlon colour). This colour is a very deep blue-green, in some lights it appears almost black, but when you move your fingers you catch that gorgeous shimmer. Even better, it’s available in the 1 2 3 shops in New Zealand for $3.

So those are my offerings! Onto Miss MaSu’s ^_^

L-R: China Glaze Rodeo Fanatic, L.A. Colors Twilight, NYX Girls Robotic, BYS Nocturnal

There’s not much I can say about MaSucree’s polishes, since they aren’t my colours! I’ll let her pictures speak for themselves.

China Glaze Rodeo Fanatic:

 We purchase China Glaze in NZ at Candy Girl.

L.A. Colors Twilight:

LA Colors is available on Cherry Culture, or The Warehouse stocks a limited selection.

NYX Girls Robotic:

NYX Girls polishes are available on Cherry Culture.

BYS Nocturnal:

BYS is available in NZ at Postie stores 🙂

MaSucree also decided to be rather helpful and compared her four directly for you!

L-R: China Glaze Rodeo Fanatic, L.A. Colors Twilight, NYX Girls Robotic, BYS Nocturnal

So, I hope you’ve found something that appeals, and even if you haven’t, you’ve got a few different brands to check out!

Good luck ❤

-Del xx

2 Responses to “Reader Request: Dark Dark Blues!”

  1. Sine Rose January 30, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    =O THE READER… IS ME! You don’t know how exciting that is 😄

    Hehe but yes thanks so much, the Revlon one is pretty much perfect. I shall hunt it down!!

    • domesticminxes January 30, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Let me know if you manage to find it 🙂
      -Del xx

Leave a Reply

