Easy Thai Chicken Noodle Soup

27 Jan

Last week I tried something new for dinner and Sir Husband liked it so much I decided it was worthy of sharing! However, a word of warning: if you’re not fantastic with spicy food (like me) don’t put quite as much curry paste in as I did XD

I found this recipe in a random food magazine from 2009. I think it was Recipes+, but I’m not 100% sure on that.

Anyway, here we go:

I deviated a little from the recipe in that the recipe recommends shredded pre-cooked chicken. Instead, I just cooked some diced chicken until it started going golden/brown and put it aside until the soup called for it.

  • 400g of hokkien noodles
  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil (use vegetable oil if you don’t have peanut)
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 2-3 tablespoons of green curry paste (I used 3 and it was too much for my tender mouth, however Sir Husband loved it)
  • 6 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 bunch of broccoli
  • 270ml coconut milk
  • Cooked chicken (I used only around 400g, we didn’t want too much. Feel free to add more though)
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce

1. First of all, start by soaking the noodles in boiling water for a few minutes, then stir to separate. Drain and set aside. While the soup was simmering I also rinsed the noodles a few more times because I always feel like the packaged ones taste… plasticky if you don’t rinse them enough.

2. Heat oil in a LARGE saucepan at medium heat. WARNING: You’re going to be putting 6 cups of stock in there, and chicken and broccoli, so make sure the saucepan is big enough.

3. Cook and stir onions for 5 minutes or until soft. Add the curry paste and stir it together with the onion. Cook for around 1 minute or until fragrant. WARNING: Do not put your face near the saucepan during this step, unless you want strong curry smell burning your eyes, nose and throat like I got >_<

4. Add stock and bring to the boil, then reduce heat and add the broccoli. Simmer for 1 minute.

5. Stir in coconut milk, chicken and fish sauce. Simmer for another couple of minutes, or until the soup is hot all through.

6. Place noodles in bowls…

 

7… Then top with soup!

Yummy.

This recipe was enough to feed 3 of us quite generously. It is quick, easy, and very tasty! Plus it mostly uses stuff you usually keep stocked in the pantry šŸ™‚

Until tomorrow~

-Del xx

Leave a Reply

