Delindel’s Galaxy NotD

15 Jan

Hmm hmm hmm, let’s conveniently overlook the fact that I’ve been silent for almost a week now, and get right back into it with awesomeness and a bang! THE BIG BANG. I decided to make my very first attempt at some fancy nail art (i.e. not just a tape mani or some lovely layering) today, and thought I’d share both hands with you – the not-so-good practice on my left hand, and my slightly better-looking right hand when I started to get the hang of it 😄

I am of course talking about the galaxy nail trend that has been around for a few months now. I used this tutorial over on Beautylish, but I’ve seen other tutorials that are basically the same thing floating around the internet.

Anyway, while they are by absolutely no means perfect, I’m quite pleased with them as my first try ^_^

I started by gathering my materials and choosing colours… Unfortunately I didn’t take a photo beforehand because the camera battery was charging 😄 So here’s my work station halfway through…

So that’s 6 bottles of polish (not including the clear top coat which was still floating around in my polish box at this point), tweezers (cute ones!), tin foil, a bobby pin, chunks of sponge (didn’t have any spare ones so I destroyed one from my old Za compact after cleaning it…), and teeny scissors because I needed something small and pointy and I couldn’t find any toothpicks… Improvising is always fun 😄

Here’s the polish:

Kleancolor 168. Metallic Black, 106. Retro Green, 04. White

Santee M57. Beach Yellow, M64. Beach Pink, 123 Selection #40.

The yellow and pink are not as neon as they look here >_<

This is my terrifyingly awful left hand… The main problem that I had was that I used the bobby pin tip for all the stars and they came out too big and stupid looking… Which is why for my right hand I switched to using the tip of the scissors to do smaller stars. Anyway, terrible hand:

The sponging went okay, but them stars are shocking >_<

Better hand!

Do you guys agree this hand turned out better? I’m not crazy, right?

They’re not perfect and I definitely wouldn’t wear these every day, but they were so much fun to do, and a good way to spend a day off work while watching cheesy 80s teen films (I watched the 3 classics, Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, and Sixteen Candles. John Hughes films make me happy).

*happy Del*

While I was watching movies I also reorganised my Kleancolor box to fit all my recent acquisitions. Wanna see? 😀

96 bottles, containing 94 colours…. Still want more.

Yeah, I’m sick, I know.

Until tomorrow!

-Del xx

7 Responses to “Delindel’s Galaxy NotD”

  1. Kirsten January 15, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    These look beautiful Danielle! I am super impressed – you’re insanely clever.
    xx

    • domesticminxes January 15, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Thanks so much Kir! They’re actually much easier than I had anticipated ^_^ They took quite a while though!
      If you’ve got some spare time you should give them a go 🙂
      -Del xx

  2. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge January 15, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    Hi! Two things: first, your nail design is awesome! I could never. 🙂 very nice. 🙂
    Second, WOW! Your nail collection is amazing and so colorful and so neatly arranged!
    You two ladies are really something. 😀 (I mean it in a good way)

    Cheers!!

    • domesticminxes January 15, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      Aww thanks Zo! I like things to be neatly arranged, you should see my bookshelf and dvd/bluray shelves! Maybe that’s why I rather fancy being a librarian like MaSucree hehe.
      This is just the smaller of my polish boxes too 😉 I recently counted my entire collection and I’m currently at a whopping 260 bottles, not including clear, top and base coats, and nail treatments. Eek!
      Thanks for reading and commenting, we always love hearing from you ❤
      -Del xx

      • Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge January 16, 2012 at 7:13 am #

        Ahh, thank you. 🙂

        That is one serious collection. I think I have maybe six 😀 It’s probably good we don’t live closer – you guys would probably have me with my own beautiful collection! 🙂 Not that it’s a bad thing at all, I just have no idea where I would keep them all. 🙂

        Can’t wait to see what’s next.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peacock-Inspired Nails « domesticminxes - January 28, 2012

    […] nails didn’t take as long as the galaxy nails though. So that’s a […]

  2. 31 Day Nail Challenge: Day 19 « DomesticMinxes - October 19, 2012

    […] these before, at the beginning of the year when I was laughably noob at nail art. Check them out here if you feel like a giggle! This time I went back to basics – black, glitter, and a few white […]

Leave a Reply

