Easy Berry Smoothies with Delindel

3 Jan

Right. Since it’s the New Year, and it’s summer, I’ve decided to try to be good this year! So instead of pigging out on chocolates for dessert last night (we got given a lot of chocolate over Christmas), I made some tasty summer berry smoothies instead.

One of my favourite things about living where I do is that we have a Farro supermarket not TOO far away. Walking distance even. It’s a bit of a stretch for me because I hate wasting my time walking, but hey. It’s summer. And walking is good. I like going to Farro because I really do feel like everything there is super fresh; best of all, they support small New Zealand growers. Plus there’s something neat about being able to buy a hot fresh coffee from a counter in the centre of the supermarket, then paying for it at the checkouts.

Anyway, yesterday I went for a big ole walk out to Farro and picked up a random selection of fresh fruits and vegetables… This is relevant because this is where I got the idea that smoothies would be an excellent and healthy alternative to rubbish.

Without further rambling… You will need:

  • Plain vanilla ice cream
  • Milk (I prefer light green/super trim)
  • Honey
  • One banana
  • Small handful of blueberries
  • Slightly bigger handful of raspberries
  • 2 or 3 strawberries chopped in half

First, I put two small spoonfuls of ice cream into my blender (we’ve been through this before, I’m terrible at giving precise amounts). Next, the small handful of blueberries, then raspberries, then strawberries, then the banana in sections. Now, for the milk… I just poured it in the blender until it was about 2/3 of the way covering the fruit and ice cream. And last of all I added a spoonful of honey to sweeten!

Mix it all up for a minute or two.

And voila!

Delicious cool summer berry smoothie! Easy, simple, tasty and best of all, FRESH!

I’ll probably make another one tonight. Smoothies are the best things ever, I dunno why I hid my blender away in the cupboard for so long!

And aren’t you glad it wasn’t nail polish? πŸ˜‰

-Del xx

2 Responses to “Easy Berry Smoothies with Delindel”

  1. amynu201 January 3, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    To answer your question, yes πŸ˜› and I loikes this post!

    • domesticminxes January 3, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      If you just got a blender, you should definitely go nuts with smoothies!!
      -Del xx

Leave a Reply

