Delindel’s Busy Christmas (Featuring Some Christmasy Nails and Some Tasty Baking)

26 Dec

Goodness MaSucree has been an awfully busy lady! I feel a bit naughty and lazy now… But hey if you can’t be naughty and lazy during the silly season, when can you?!

I hope you all had fantastic Christmases, I know mine was pretty great. Got some nice things, spent time with awesome people and ate a butt-tonne of delicious food (mmm, ham). My Christmas was actually ridiculously busy.

On Saturday (Christmas Eve), my sister, her husband and kids, Sir Husband and I, all headed down to Hamilton to spend a few hours with our mum, stepdad, little brother and sister. My mum is a chef, so you can imagine how ridonk tasty our Christmas lunch was! I didn’t take my camera though so I have no pictures to share 😦 However, today I took photos of my haul from that part of my family πŸ˜€

So here we have:

  • Jack Sparrow poster from little brother and sister (dribble)
  • Two 123 Selection nail polishes from little brother and sister (gosh they know me so well!)
  • Box of Roses from Mum and John (my stepdad)
  • Pearl necklace from Mum and John (my birthstone ^_^)
  • Free Pass to the Hamilton Zoo from Mum and John (my mama works there!)

Miscellaneous gifts in this photo include:

  • China Glaze from MaSucree ❀
  • Cute purple flower outdoor fairy lights from my older sister’s mother-in-law (don’t ask, it’s complicated!)
  • Completely amazing 2012 weekly diary featuring artwork by my 5-year-old nephew ❀ (it’s a fish when it’s landscape, I also think it looks somewhat like an owl when it’s portrait :3 isn’t he great? He even wrote in it for me!)

This is my new necklace CLOSE UP STYLE.

22. Milky Way and 18. Light Pink Pearl. Yay!

China Glaze 690. Joy. Absolutely cannot wait to try this out! ❀ you MaSu! If you’re interested, I’m wearing NYX Girls Shimmer (swatched and ready to show you when I’m back from my holiday!)

Okay! So that’s Saturday. Technically I opened the polish from MaSu and the fairy lights on Sunday but mehhhh.

Sir Husband and I spent Christmas Eve at home with our catty cat Suki, and I painted my nails for Christmas Day:

Not my most inspired look, but it was certainly Christmasy. This was done with a misc shiny red polish in my stash without a name (you can’t see the shimmer in the pic, but it’s there), LA Colors Voodoo and Jordana Pop Art Nail Design in Golden Artist (i.e. gold glitter nail art brush). Classic Christmas colours with classic easy lines… They’re not straight because I did it free-hand; I’ve lost my scotch tape 😦

They got a few nice comments πŸ™‚

On Christmas morning I got to open my present from Sir Husband:

Yes. All eight. Bluray. Boxset. Life complete.

I love my husband so damn much :3

Anyway, then we headed out to my Nana’s place for Christmas breakfast. Not much to show off here, I mostly got cash (oh yeah, new underwear here I come), as well as a rice cooker from my uncle. No more ricey watery mess for me! *cackles*

THEN we headed to my in-laws’ place for Christmas lunch ^_^ I got quite a haul here! My sister-in-law got me a cute little notepad for by my computer:

As well as a totally cute baking tin:

The tin came filled with European spicy Christmas cookies (which are already all gone thanks to my boys), and really tied in with the theme of my gift from Sir Husband’s parents:

This is only the first part of my gift from them. That’s two sets of cookie cutters with three different shape options, a baking umbrella cover thing, and a cupcake-themed oven mitt and pot holder set πŸ˜€

They also gave me a totally adorable cupcake-themed apron! I thought it was quite funny that MaSu and I both received aprons this Christmas >_<

I also got a rather pretty scarf that I forgot to photograph, and a mysterious and beautiful box…

…Containing a beautiful teacup set πŸ˜€

Didn’t I do well this Christmas?! I also scored a few things from Christmas crackers:

Neat huh? Got a corkscrew, egg cup, cute little keyring notebook and a butt-tonne of paper crowns. Yay me!

Anyway, after lunch we hung out at Hubbo’s parents’ place, played some board games (I came a very narrow second to his mum in a heated game of Scrabble, but didΒ abysmallyΒ in the Game of Life), before heading out to one of his aunty’s houses to have a huge Christmas dinner with his mum’s family. There’s a lot of them!

All in all, Christmas was very long and exhausting, but it was also awesome and fun and full of awesomeness and delicious food and great people. That’s always my favourite part of Christmas! It’s not the gifts; it’s the time spent with people who matter, the music, the decorations, the food, and the whole general atmosphere :3

Anyhow, today I slept in until 9.30am (aaahhh, bliss). Then I got out of bed and got very domestic! I did two loads of washing because we’re going away tomorrow morning and we need clean clothes for that. And then I headed into the kitchen to play with some of my new toys!

I’ve never been very good at baking cookies, the first and last lot I tried expanded crazily and turned into a cookie loaf. Not so fantastic. So I decided to try out one of Kirsten’s fool-proof recipes, and settled on her lovely spongy lemon cookies. Since I also happened to have passionfruit curd in my pantry (it’s awesome with desserts), I put some of that on top too!

Perfect afternoon tea after a day of being a good wife.

I’m brewing a cup of Rooibos Pacific Sun tea that I bought from the Tea Centre in Sydney. It’s freaking delicious. The cookies turned out perfect too, so I’m taking them up to the Hokianga with us tomorrow to share with the rest of my family! (My dad and my sister’s family are already there >_< )

I’m looking forward to my little summer break! I sincerely hope you all had a safe and happy Christmas, and don’t do anything too crazy for New Year’s!

See you all when I get back from the beach… I’ll have pretty photos for you πŸ™‚

-Del xx

8 Responses to “Delindel’s Busy Christmas (Featuring Some Christmasy Nails and Some Tasty Baking)”

  1. KirstenM December 26, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    WOW – weren’t you spoilt? Your Christmas sounds wonderful and the cookies look very cute in flower form! Enjoy your holiday x

    • domesticminxes January 1, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      The cookies were a hit with the family πŸ™‚ Hope you had a wonderful Christmas too!
      -Del

  2. Emm December 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    So much cute stuff!! I loved those tins and cup and saucer!!

    Btw,
    Versatile Blogger Award! I nominated both of you!

    • domesticminxes January 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      Wow thanks Emm!! I’m in love with my teacup set too :3
      -Del

  3. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge December 26, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Wow, what a good girl you have been! Look at your bounty πŸ˜€
    Looove the teacup πŸ™‚
    Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year πŸ™‚

    • domesticminxes January 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      I’m always a good girl! Hehe. Hope you had a good holiday season too πŸ˜€
      -Del xx

  4. Sine Rose December 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    That pearl necklace is absolutely gorgeous!! As is the teacup set. Jealous. What a lucky girl you are =D

    • domesticminxes January 1, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Yes I was extremely pleased with this year’s booty πŸ˜€
      -Del

Leave a Reply

