Clay Cupcake Decorations

24 Dec

Good evening Sweetie Darlings!

Tomorrow is Christmas!!! Woooo!!! Only a few more hours to wait!!! Well for those of us who live in New Zealand land it is. 🙂

Today in between house cleaning and long walks with Mr Gabby I got crafty…I know it happened again…I’m frightened too.

At work we had a secret Santa and Jordan (I found out later he had me) was an awesome secret Santa and gave me Cupcake Cookie Cutters and a Zombie finger puppet. I have to admit I am not a big cookie fan…well making them so I thought I could maybe use them in my clay creations as well baking. (I promise I clean them in very hot, soapy water first before baking after clay).

I got three different sizes and sadly I forgot to put something beside them for size comparisons. Oh well. Just trust me that the big blue one would make epic cookies 😮

I did the bases for the cupcakes out of any old vaguely cake coloured clay because you would only see that from the back and it wouldn’t matter too much if they all matched each other. I decided the small yellow one would be a nice size to work with for now.

For all the layers I just used different parts of the cutter and shaped them. Above is me cutting out the base.

I cut off any excess and then used a ruler to add the patty case lines :3

I even did it for the topping too, that was a little trickier cause I had to try get the curved bottom.

I trialed doing lots of different colour combinations. I think my favourite would have to be the yellow base one. Now have some artsy shots 🙂

I made sure to add eye pins before baking them so that I could put some thread through them and turn them into decorations. I think they look pretty awesome on my christmas tree.

If you would like to see close ups of all the individual cupcakes, I will eventually be posting them on my DeviantART gallery. It should be linked underneath my link column to the right ——->

Anyway sweeties, if I don’t see you tomorrow have your selves a very Merry Christmas!

❤ MaSucree

5 Responses to “Clay Cupcake Decorations”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge December 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Those are amazing and sooooo cute! Nice job. 🙂 Your tree is really pretty too.

    • domesticminxes December 27, 2011 at 7:47 am #

      I ended up giving them to my mum and dad for their Christmas tree and they were so happy with them 🙂
      I am glad you like them, they were so fun to make.
      ❤ MaSucree

  2. Sine Rose December 29, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Leave it to you to make fake baking instead of edible baking =P
    You want to watch that. One Christmas my brother got a brown bar of soap that was shaped like a bar of chocolate in his stocking. And he tried to take a bite out of it. Needless to say he soon realised his mistake, but we have been mocking him for it for about… ooh… 20 years?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hobby Bazaar and Dukit Review « domesticminxes - January 6, 2012

    […] Hobby Bazaar and is filled with Du-Kit Polymer Clay. I use Polymer Clay when I make things like my Cupcake Decorations. I have been running low lately on the main colours I used so I splurged and brought myself some […]

Leave a Reply

