Nails of the Day ~ Study Procrastination

11 Nov

Would any of you believe that despite all my years of being addicted to nail polish, and having a collection of well over 100 bottles (still cataloguing and waiting on some packages! MaSucree and I certainly didn’t place an order for a butt-tonne of NYX polishes this morning… Certainly not!), I have literally never attempted nail art?

Never ever! I tell no lies. It always kind of intimidated me, I’m the kind of person who hates being a noob at something so it takes me ages to get into things I know I won’t be fantastic at straight off >_< *cough* makeupandnailart!! *cough*

Anyway, I have an exam tomorrow and I’ve been avoiding studying all day because it’s politics and politics is rubbish. I had a couple of the Jordana bottles on my computer desk and at some point I picked one up and this happened.

I am aware that with tape etc I could achieve a much cleaner line >_< But seeing as how this was an extremely spontaneous first attempt at something other than plain or layered nails, I’m quite pleased with my girly result.

Jordana #981 Sweet Rose (from yesterday)

Jordana #964 Silky Purple

You can get both these colours online from Cherry Culture for $1.99 USD, or trawl your local dollar stores in Auckland, that’s how I picked up Silky Purple.

Yay!

I would love it if you could share your first experience with little-bit-less-boring nails! Flick an email over to domestic.minxes@gmail.com, or even delindel.dani@gmail.com!

What do you guys think? Acceptable spontaneous first-time-noob-nail-art nails? Wish me luck for my exam tomorrow too (I’m going to need it).

-Del xx

 

6 Responses to “Nails of the Day ~ Study Procrastination”

  1. Sine Rose November 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    The first time I attempted nail art it was when I had just started getting obsessed with the band Jamiroquai… which has ten letters… so, I painted my left hand black and my right hand white and USING A TOOTHPICK I wrote a letter in the opposite colour on each of my nails. I must have been more ambidextrous back then than I am now because now I struggle just to do normal nail polish on my right hand let alone using a toothpick to draw letters on it…

    • domesticminxes November 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Oh that’s so cute! I remember when you told me about being obsessed with Jamiroquai – I still have all the albums too šŸ˜€
      I’m actually planning on buying some toothpicks asap so I can try some more stuff ^_^

  2. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge November 12, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    Pretty. I could never get them so straight. Good Job for not using tape šŸ™‚
    Good Luck on you test.
    šŸ™‚

    • domesticminxes November 12, 2011 at 8:28 am #

      Thanks Zo! I like the way the purple makes the dusty pink more interesting too šŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nails of the Day ~ Exam Nails! « domesticminxes - November 12, 2011

    […] often paint my nails as a way of relaxing, so of course this morning I cleaned off yesterday’s first attempt at nail art, and burrowed around in my polish drawer and came out with this lovely colour… (Sorry that […]

  2. Nails of the Day ~ Noob Patchwork Nails « domesticminxes - November 13, 2011

    […] I had done the night before, it was a bit boring and too similar to the first freehand attempt from Friday. So I decided to pick up my black Kleancolor and do a noob version of Erika’s Patchwork Mani. […]

Leave a Reply

