Baking With MaSucree – Melting Moments

11 Nov

My dad really loves melting moments as a treat for his birthday or Christmas my Nana would make them for him. So this for Father’s day (I know a while back now) I made him some and he was so chuffed. While I was making them I took some photos so I could share with you the recipe. Some of the steps are missing photos as it is a lil hard to take photos and ice biscuits XD

These biscuits are really easy to make but I find that they taste best the next day as the icing absorbs into the biscuits a bit and they get that perfect melty, crumbly texture. So if you want them for something make them the day before.

Also I of course did not come up with this recipe it is from my trusty Edmond’s Cookbook.

Melting Moments:

Biscuits:

  • 200 grams Butter or margarine *
  • 3/4 Cup Icing Sugar
  • 1 Cup Standard Flour
  • 1 Cup Cornflour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

Butter Icing:

  • 100grams butter or margarine *
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 Cups Icing Sugar
  • 1-2 tsp hot water

*I use margarine so these biscuits are not as sinful as usual šŸ™‚ It’s up to you though.

Preheat Oven to 180 degreesĀ Celsius.Ā 

1. Cream the butter and icing sugar together till it is nice an fluffy

2. Sift (if you’re that way inclined I’m not XD) in flour, cornflour and baking powder. Mix it all together.

3. Now a trick I picked up when making thse biscuits is to have a container or warm water near by so as you spoon our the mixture onto a greased baking tray you can wet the spoon so the mixture doesn’t stick. It is very sticky so be prepared to have sticky fingers.

4. It doesn’t matter too much what size you make your balls as long as you try and make them even. I try make mine about the size two marbles.

5. With a wet fork flatten out the balls I criss cross mine so that they are evenly flattened.

6. Bake them for 15-20mins you do have to keep a very close eye on these biscuits so they do not burn. Take them out as soon as they start to go a little bit golden. They are meant to be pale.

7. Once theĀ biscuitsĀ are nice and cool prepare your icing my mixing all the butter icing ingredients together. It is best to make the icing as stiff asĀ possibleĀ so the biscuits stick quickly.

8. I find theseĀ biscuitsĀ are best without too much icing on them specially since they do end up dribbling. So spread on the icing in the middle of the biscuits leaving a little bit of space from the edge then jam on your top biscuit.

9. To help these set without too much slippage stick them in the fridge for a bit.

Enjoy your melting moments they are sinful but so worth it.

ā¤ MaSucree

P.s. In order to motivate my friend to get his blog up in running again here is a link to “Batman’s Neighbour“. He hasn’t got much up yet but hopefully he will share with you some awesome manly cooking/rugbyness.

3 Responses to “Baking With MaSucree – Melting Moments”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge November 12, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Ahh, these sound wonderful. I’ll have to try them šŸ™‚ I like your photo of them in the jar, it’s very nice. I want to reach in and take one!!

    • domesticminxes November 12, 2011 at 9:03 am #

      The photo is really cool, my mum helped me set it up. She has an amazing collection of jars, glassware and china and is slowly helping me build up my own. šŸ™‚
      Melting Moments are the ultimate happy love biscuits

      • Zoe November 12, 2011 at 10:54 am #

        I’m getting excited to try them.

Leave a Reply

