Shopping, Review, Swatches… The Usual ;)

9 Nov

I’ve been missing for a couple of days now! The usual kept me away – laziness, busy-ness, and work πŸ˜‰ Today I come bearing small shopping endeavours, a small follow-up on a previous purchase, and a super awesome nail polish comparison.

First off:

Chocolate! Drool….

From The Sweetest Little Chocolate Shop again, I got these three bars for $35. A *little* on the pricey side but totally worth it. The Earl Grey Tea is probably my favourite, then Sea Salt, then Lavender; they’re all amazing though. You can see in the photo I had already gotten into the Sea Salt with MaSucree before I got home >_<

Next up:

I present you with some evidence of the Cranberry Joy Shimmer Lotion I bought last week at work on my legs! Gosh that was a strange sentence.

So on my left leg I have nothing, and on my right we have the shimmer lotion! I think it has definitely helped even out my skin tone, and Miss MaSu agreed. I will definitely continue to use this; aside from evening out my stupid pale patchy winter legs, it smells fantastic ^_^

And now a new shopping treasure:

Yesterday I picked up a shift at work because one of the other girls was sick. In one of my 10 minute breaks I sauntered over to the Body Shop (again) because the shimmer lotion purchase had left me with a $10 off voucher (yay!). The lovely lovely salesgirl in there helped me pick the perfect body scrub to go with the other products I’ve got at home! Since I mostly use the strawberry range, we decided that the Cranberry Joy Body Scrub would compliment the strawberry and cranberry scents I already have.

Here in NZ it costs $35 for the 200ml tub. Might seem a bit hefty but it will last a long time πŸ™‚

Looks Β divine, smells divine, and leaves my skin feeling soft, supple, and smooth!

Looks a bit like strawberry jam, doesn’t it? Definitely smells good enough to eat! Look at all that exfoliating goodness ❀ I’m wondering whether I should stockpile this stuff before the limited edition Christmas stuff gets taken out of stores >_<

And Now For Something Completely Different:

If you get that reference, you’re awesome. My final piece of business is what I’ve been up to:

Yeah. It is what it looks like. I’ve started cataloguing my countless polishes. And I still haven’t finished. MaSucree asked me how many I have and it pained me to admit that I’m no longer sure! So some cataloguing was in order. I’ve separated them into brands, the colours are in no particular order, just depended which one I picked up >_<

While I was doing this I came across two polishes that struck me as very similar… but for very different prices.

On the left we have a Jordana nail polish, which cost me about $3 from a cheap Asian store somewhere. The colour is #920 Hot & Spicy, you can get it on Cherry Culture for $1.99 USD.

On the right is a Revlon polish that I got for *cough* free from my sister-in-law (who worked for Revlon). The colour is Orange Pop, it’s one of the ones that is scented when dry. I don’t know about everywhere else, but here in NZ Revlon is stupidly expensive, usually around $15.99 a bottle from Farmers, and it’s usually the same at pharmacies.

On to the swatches!

Index: Jordana Hot & Spicy

Middle: Revlon Orange Pop

Ring: Jordana Hot & Spicy

Little: Revlon Orange Pop

What do you guys think? I actually found the Jordana formula and brush easier to work with than the Revlon. The Revlon formula came out a little streaky. They are both really great colours, though not quite as close as I had originally thought from the bottles. Still close enough for the Jordana to be an acceptable dupe for this great Revlon summer colour, no?!

Agree?

-Del xx

3 Responses to “Shopping, Review, Swatches… The Usual ;)”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge November 12, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    I can only imagine how many colors of polish you have! Oh my goodness. πŸ™‚ That’s so neat, though. You are like those wonderful salons where you walk in and there’s 200 bottles of every color under the rainbow staring back at you. Choices are always good.
    I might have to try that shimmer lotion. I am very pale and would love a little sparkle to my ghostly legs. I used to tan religiously, but got smart, I don’t want anymore damage than I might have already done. πŸ™‚
    And I absolutely love that coral polish!! Very pretty. πŸ™‚
    (That scrub looks good enough to eat!!)
    Cheers!

    • domesticminxes November 12, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      Oh well done for weaning yourself off tanning! Tanning is terrible for the skin and makes us pale girls look so much older so much faster T_T The shimmer lotion is fantastic, it makes your skin pop without turning yourself into an orange. I don’t know who decided that tanned skin was the only attractive tone, I’d like a word or two with them!
      I adore corals and oranges for summertime, especially here in NZ where it’s all beaches and sunshine (I spend the summer slathered in sunscreen because I don’t want to tan or burn! πŸ˜‰ ) It’s good to find cheaper alternatives to expensive colours; while it’s nice to splurge sometimes, with a collection like mine it’s just economical to go nuts on the cheaper brands (which are often just as good as the expensive ones).
      I counted my polishes last night… After getting rid of a couple of duds and doubles, I came up with 142 bottles…. And that’s not including the 16 I have on the way >_<
      I keep them all stuffed in a drawer at the moment, but I'm looking for some perfect storage solutions so it's easier to find colours – maybe when Sir Husband and I buy our first house he'll let me set up some shelves! Then I really will be like a rainbow salon ^_^

      • Zoe November 12, 2011 at 10:56 am #

        That would be awesome… Your own personal “salon” !!
        I think I have 8 colors but I usually go natural since I’m so tough on my hands. πŸ™‚ Indulge once in a while though for special occasions.
        πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

