Shopping, Review, Swatches, and Nails of the Day~

6 Nov

Many things to share today! It’s hard to keep it all straight… I’ll try my best. First and foremost I have some small shopping endeavours to share, as well as a few oh-look-people-gave-me-stuff things to show off. I’ve bunched them all into one photo because I’m lazy and the camera battery was running low and I couldn’t find the charger.

Right! First the gifts/crap people pawned onto me:

  • Fudge Dry Shampoo (salon range, not Urban), given me by Teal Amy
  • Almay Intense i-Color trio for greens from darling MaSucree (she had two!)
  • Eye Majic instant eyeshadow in shade #24, Day Dreamer, from my awesome boss Whitney (who got them for free with a magazine)
I’m yet to try the dry shampoo and the instant eyeshadow, but I adore the Almay eyeshadow as much as MaSucree! I’ve worn it the past two days at work, it’s a lovely natural neutral look for me. Now the things I’ve bought!
  • Cosmetics case from 2 Cheap, $4.50 (for going to Sydney!)
  • 4-pack of small travel bottles from 2 Cheap, $2.00, also for Sydney
  • Kleancolor Baby Got Volume Mascara in black, from Postie, $5
  • Kleancolor eye pencil in brown, from Postie, $4
  • Kleancolor nail lacquer in #5 Black and #121 Mystic Grass, from Postie, two for $8
  • Kleancolor ‘Wizard Pads‘ in Vanilla and Cucumber Scent, from Postie, $3 each
That’s a whole big smackbang of Kleancolor! I have a bunch more polishes on the way from Beauty Joint too.
First thing I want to talk about is the totally awesome Kleancolor Wizard Pads!
I picked these up after a discussion with the Lovely LuΒ about the hassles of using nail polish remover (throughout the discussion I created a mountain of blackened cotton pads). Lu mentioned that Postie had some pads that had the polish remover in them already and that they were super easy to use! So yesterday morning before starting work I slithered over to Postie and found that these delightful little things were only $3 each. So I grabbed two!
Upon returning to work I tested them on my oh-so-slightly-chipped nails and was extremely excited that just ONE pad took care of all 10 nails. And aside from that, I didn’t have to deal with the smelliness of polish remover because the pads are scented (quite pleasantly), as well as not having to deal with the dryness that usually accompanies polish remover. The cuticle oil was an excellent notion to stop that dryness. Next time I’m near a Postie I’ll be picking up the peach and lemon scented ones as well for sure! Give them a go if removing your polish gives you grief!
Next I’ve got some swatches of the two new Kleancolor nail lacquers I picked up:
#5 Black and #121 Mystic Grass
Index finger: two coats Mystic Grass
Middle finger: one coat Mystic Grass
Ring finger: One coat Black with one coat Mystic Grass
I didn’t bother to swatch the black by itself, it’s a standard black, no issues! Mystic Grass is a pearly green, it’s quite sheer but two coats is perfectly opaque. It looks quite neat layered over the black too, if I had been interested in Halloween it would have been a nice witchy look.
I’ve also got another random Kleancolor swatch to share. This one is a one-coat go-to for work when I feel like I’ve been wearing my lovely OPI too much.
This is #65 Salsa, it’s a pearl pink with peachy-gold shimmer. It looks nicer with two coats because you can’t see the nail line, but I was in a rush and couldn’t be bothered doing another coat πŸ˜„
And last, but certainly not least, I present you with today’s Nails of the Day (yes, it’s going to be a fairly regular thing for events and outings and such), for going out to dinner with Sir Husband tonight!
Excuse the messiness, I took this before the cleanup πŸ˜„ This is one coat of Kleancolor #5 Black, with one coat of Kleancolor #131 Silver Lining.
What do you guys think?~ I like this look and it reminds me why I ought to use black polish more often. The main reason I don’t is that it’s such a pain in the butt to remove and not get messy πŸ˜„
Until tomorrow!
-Del xx
6 Responses to “Shopping, Review, Swatches, and Nails of the Day~”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge November 6, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Hello lucky!
    I have a friend and we gift things back and forth every so often and its so cool – Things i buy that dont work for me and vise-versa. It’slike getting a bunch of new stuff for free! Well, I guess its not getting free stuff, it getting new free stuff! πŸ˜€
    I do like your polish. Especially the black sparkles πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great night put with Sir Husband!! πŸ™‚
    Till the next post. Cheers.

    • Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge November 6, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Something wierd happened. Sorry some of my words disappeared when it posted. Oh well, i hope you got my basic message. I just sound drunk! πŸ™‚

    • domesticminxes November 6, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Doing the product-swap with friends is a great way to try out new stuff to see if it works for you! The dry shampoo I scored because Amy felt like it didn’t work with her hair… We’ll see how it goes with mine πŸ˜€
      My sparkly black polish looked great in the lighting in the restaurant! And thank you, we had a lovely time out, he never takes me out for dinner so it was a nice surprise this morning to get a text from him telling me to pick a restaurant ^_^

  2. Sine Rose November 6, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    STEAK STEAK STEAK.
    I like that Salsa polish, I’d like to see it in person to make sure it’s not too pink but otherwise it looks like a nice chilled-out colour for everyday?

    • domesticminxes November 6, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      It really is Sheeny! If you come to the city tomorrow I will bring it for you to see? πŸ˜›

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shopping Expedition, Nails of the Day, and a Small Farewell « domesticminxes - November 15, 2011

    […] I’ve been using >_< I also picked up some cuter-packaged Wizard Pads (that I reviewed here), I got the grape, rose and cherry scented ones. Gotta love Kleancolor stuff!! I also picked up a […]

Leave a Reply

