Stripey Skull Hair Piece

24 Oct

So I promised you some crafty goodness with a snapshot of the felt skull I had been working on and crazily enough I actually finished my project. It had been rattling round in my head all week so with my extra day off I took over the lounge floor and got my craft on ^_^. As I may have mentioned I am going to the Armageddon Pulp Culture Expo this weekend and I am getting all flashed up to go! For my black and corsety attire I needed an equally awesome hair piece, so here is what I made (almost step by step for you).

This is my all time favourite ribbon…well its actually bias binding but anyway! So I started by measuring out the length of the ribbon lengths I would need. Oddly enough I cut 11 pieces of ribbon and folded them in half.

It took me a little bit to fiddle round with the ribbon to figure out how I wanted to layer it. I did half at a time since it was quite thick and needed super gluing as I went. I super glued it to tack it into place.

So once the first half was tacked into place I layered the second half, also tacking it into place with super glue.

After I had the base all stuck together I cut out two felt circles and heated up my glue gun.

I placed a felt circle on both the front and the back of the base. I find that the felt allows me to stick things onto the ribbon alot easier and it also make everything look a lot tidier. Specially since there were lots of ribbon ends in the middle. I also added a lot of hot glue to keep all the ribbon pieces together.

Now I’m just gonna come out and be honest with you, I was not following any plan or guide when I was making this. It was all in my head and I was making it up as I went along.  I just cut pieces of my lace trim willy nilly and placed them on the base until they looked nice and then I glued the crap out of it XD

Then again with excess amounts of hot glue I stuck my felt skull (here’s one I made earlier XD) onto the lace front. This was when it really started to look like what I had in my head.

It didn’t look quite finished yet so I found some bead and ribbon and glued the crap out of them too.

Again I’m just making it up as I go along. However remember to add a little clear nail polish or super glue to the ends of your ribbons to strengthen them *serious face*

Once I was happy with my little creation I added the findings to the back again this is made a lot easier by the felt. I added both a brooch pin and a hair clip so it could be multipurpose.

So now I just need to make up my mind on what I am going to wear to Armageddon now. I promise to take photos and let you know how it goes. If you have any questions about making the hair pieces give me a buzz. And remember all these pictures belong to me.

MWAH!

❤ MaSucree

4 Responses to “Stripey Skull Hair Piece”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge October 24, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Another totally sweet creation, MaSucree!

    I have a TON of hair – GOOD – I’m horrible at doing cool things with it – BAD.

    Maybe I’ll learn something from your posts!
    I like this as a bow!

    Cheers!!
    Zo

    • domesticminxes October 25, 2011 at 11:51 am #

      Awww man you really need to come for a visit! I love playing around with hair, I usually attack my own and do funky things with it or when we have time I do Delindel’s. I would love to play with yours, I have such thing hair that barely listens to me -_- Maybe I could post a few hair styles and hair care posts. ^_^ thanks for the idea.
      I am glad you like my new hair bow ❤
      MaSucree

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Alive! And I Come Bearing Swatches! « domesticminxes - October 25, 2011

    […] After sending MaSu back to work, I meet up with my buddy Sine and we headed to Umi Sushi (best sushi in the city in my opinion, at the Atrium on Elliott). Then I dragger her to Cyber Outlet (in the MidCity arcade) because I rather fancied a few new hairbows. I’ve been too lazy/busy to make pretty ones like Miss MaSu! […]

  2. MaSucree at Armageddon Expo + My Weekend « domesticminxes - November 1, 2011

    […] year I made my very own hair piece so I could go all gothed up ^_^ Because it’s not much of a secret that at my age I still love […]

Leave a Reply

