Cooking with MaSucree – Easy Cannelloni

23 Oct

PASTA!

Om nom nom nom! Anything that combines pasta, tomatoes and veges is instantly a fave for me. Pasta is super easy to make and expirement with. However the same old same old can get very boring so I try regularly to mix it up.

I posted earlier that I had been cooking Cannelloni with a positive outcome so I thought I would share the recipe that I got from the latest NZ Healthy Food Guide.

You Will Need:

  • 350-400grams beef mince
  • 1 onion (super finely chopped)
  • mushrooms (finely chopped)
  • capsicum (also finely chopped)
  • 2 Tbs Tomato paste
  • 1 Cup Tomato Puree
  • Mixed herbs
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 1 Jar of Pasta Sauce
  • Cheese of your choice maybe Parmesan or mozzarella
  • Ready made cannelloni tubes

So first things first get that oven going! Turn it up to 180 degrees celcius

1. Brown your mince

2. Wile your mince is browning boil a cup of water and stir in your 1 tsp of beef stock powder.

3. Add your beef stock, tomato paste, tomatoe puree, mixed herbs and veges (make sure your veges are finely chopped as it makes them a lot easier to get in the tubes).

4. Let it simmer for a little bit but try and keep as much sauce as possible. I don’t like super watery sauces so I simmer the crap out of my meat sauces but you really need sauceyness for this recipe.

5. Now comes the tricky part, shove that meat and vege mix into your cannelloni tubes. I found the best way was using a teaspoon and just forcing in as much as possible.

6. Once you have made as many tubes as you like pour any extra meat mix over the tubes (if you’ve used it all up no worries).

7. Now when it comes to pouring over your pasta sauces the recipe I followed from NZ Healthy Food Guide made it look all swanky by just pouring it through the middle. I found this meant the pasta on the edges with no sauce on it did not cook and stayed crunchy. If you like crunchy go for it but I highly suggest smothering all your pasta in sauce.

8. Add the cheese of your liking,  I did a mix of parmesan and mozzarella.

9. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes or until the pasta is cooked to your liking. Now don’t leave it in there too much pass 30 minutes as the pasta will dry out.

I am going to try making this recipe with fresh pasta sheets next time and maybe crumble some feta and spinach through it for a different taste.

Do you have any cannelloni ideas or helpful tips? Give me a buzz I would love to hear them 🙂

❤ MaSucree

2 Responses to “Cooking with MaSucree – Easy Cannelloni”

  1. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge October 23, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    I used to male these along time ago, i haven’t thought about them forever! Yours look great. :b
    I didn’t make anything for dinner and now seeing these beauties I’m all of a sudden very hungry. 🙂
    Can’t decide if I should stay in and make something pumpkiny or go watch my brothers band play. . . . Knowing me, food will win.
    Cheers! Thanks for sharing!

    • domesticminxes October 23, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Foooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood! 🙂 it will always win

Leave a Reply

