Delindel, the Queen of Last Minute Meals

14 Sep

Ever gotten home quite late at night, felt exhausted at the thought of cooking dinner, and then realised you forgot to get meat out to thaw anyway? Yeah that’s what happened to me tonight. So I thought I’d share a fantastic last-minute-I-forgot-I’d-have-to-make-dinner dinner recipe!You will need!

  • any kind of meat you can find that will go with a tomato-based pasta sauce. I foraged for some bacon and tinned shredded chicken (Chop Chop Chicken, Sundried Tomato flavour)
  • minced garlic (I have a jar on hand at all times)
  • garlic and herb salt
  • mushrooms
  • a tin of diced tomatoes
  • penne pasta, cooked to how you like it
  • tomato-based pasta bake sauce. I used Heinz Creamy Tomato and Parmesan pasta bake sauce. Yum.
Preheat oven to around 220C, and start your pasta cooking in a pot. Cook your meats in a frypan and season with a buttload of garlic and herb salt. When it’s looking tasty (i.e. your meat is browned or cooked through in the case of raw chicken), add a tablespoon of minced garlic, and your chopped up mushrooms. Next add the tin of tomatoes! Keep it all simmering and add some more garlic and herb salt (mmmmmm). When your pasta is ready, add the pasta bake sauce to the frypan with the meats and whatnot. Mix it around, then add the pasta and mix it around some more until the pasta is covered in the meat-and-sauce. Transfer to a baking dish and bake for 30 minutes or so. If you have a husband who doesn’t mind cheese, add some cheese on top before baking it (I’m not allowed to do this step, sadface).
Ta-da! Easy peasy last minute meal. It doesn’t exactly look overly fancy… In fact it looks like it was thrown together, but since it WAS just thrown together, we’ll ignore that 😉 . Tastes awesome and you can have leftovers for lunch the next day! Can you guess what I’m eating for lunch tomorrow?
Om nom nom!
Anyhoo, time to get back to my nasty 50% assignment for my Politics paper. Wish me luck 😉
-Del xx
Leave a Reply

