Delindel and her Late Night Baking Addiction

11 Sep

I only ever seem to get the urge to bake at night. It’s weird. And probably annoys our neighbours when I’m mixing stuff… >_<

It’s been aaages since I’ve baked anything because of the constant stress of uni and work, coupled with the fact that I was so sick for so long (I’m still coughing a bit but I’m mostly better now).

Tonight I decided to bake some orange-chocolate mud cupcakes. I didn’t have a specific recipe, and I couldn’t be bothered finding one, so I whipped up a basic chocolate mud cupcake recipe and added 8 tbsps (yes 8 of them) of freshly squeezed orange juice to the mix at the end. I added 8 tbsps because I couldn’t find my zester and I didn’t feel like going to the effort of doing it the hard way. I decided not to ice them because my lads aren’t overly fond of icing, especially Sir Husband because he is a weirdo freak who doesn’t like icing (or cheese, what the hell?!), so I thought just a light dusting of cocoa would do.

The photos aren’t too great, one of the hazards of baking late at night…

Not the cutest cupcakes I’ve ever made, but gosh-darned tasty! The extra orange juice made the mixture super runny and I worried that it wouldn’t work… but it made them so delightfully moist ~ yummy. The orange juice gave just the slightest hint of orange to the mix, it’s quite yummy but I think next time I’ll make the effort of finding my zester so I can add some zest to the mix.

I also think that next time I bake, I’m going to make something light and fluffy, so I can justify adding buttloads of buttercream icing… These rich little babies just can’t warrant buttercream (which is just about the only kind of icing worth having).

Until next time~ (yes I’m aware it’s almost 11p.m…)

-Del xx

4 Responses to “Delindel and her Late Night Baking Addiction”

  1. kirble September 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Yum! These sound wonderful. And I totally agree with your comments about buttercream – it pains me to use anything else x

    • domesticminxes September 12, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Buttercream is the king of all icing! Husband said these cupcakes “taste nice but are very sticky” – he’s a funny lad. I think by sticky he meant moist >_<

  2. Zoe September 12, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    These are beautiful little jewels!
    It’s so funny you mention you only cook at night. I also have a late night addiction to cooking. It’s quiet and peaceful and I usually get my best ideas late, but I’m a night owl. Most of my friends think I’m nuts.
    πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your blog. Can’t wait to try some recipes.
    “So many recipes, so little time!”

    • domesticminxes September 12, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      It’s always tough finding time to try all the recipes we want to, the only time we have is at night! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

