MaSucree’s Weekend of Movies

3 Sep

There was no big shopping adventure this weekend, Delindel and I thought it would be best to have a break since both of us had days of sick this week. Also our bank accounts were looking a little sad XD

So I spent this weekend baking and watching DVDs. Here are the DVDs I watched.

Driving Lessons (2006)

Starring: Rupert Grint and Julie Walters
Plot Summary: A coming of age story about a shy teenage boy trying to escape from the influence of his domineering mother. His world changes when he begins to work for a retired actress.
Review: I have to admit there were parts where my attention swayed, mainly because they were too awkward for me to watch. All together I am glad I watched it. Rupert Grint plays a very awkward young man who does not quite know who he is and in order to do that he needs to get away from his overbearing mother. Julie Walters plays a highly eccentric retired Actress who brings a little bit of the wacky and normal to Rupert’s character’s life.
Three and a Half Stars. 

American Graffiti (1973)

Starring: Wolfman Jack and many others
Plot Summary: A couple of high school grads spend one final night cruising the strip with their buddies before they go off to college.
Review: I had been listening to the record of this Movie all my life. Wolfman Jack is the best part with his radio show playing almost constantly through out the Movie. There is not big twisty story in this Movie, it is just a story about how a couple of High school graduates spent their night. Some of them are staying, some of them are leaving to go to college. Even though it was made in the 70s I could relate to it even now.
Four Stars.

 

Magnificent Obsession (1954)

Starring: Rock Hudson and Jane Wyman.
Plot Summary:When churlish, spoiled rich man Bob Merrick foolishly wrecks his speed boat, the rescue team resuscitates him with equipment that’s therefore unavailable to aid a local hero, Dr. Wayne Phillips, who dies as a result. Phillips had helped many people, and when Merrick learns Phillips’ secret, to give selflessly and in secret, he tries it in a ham-handed way. The result further alienates Phillips’ widow, Helen, with whom Merrick has fallen in love. Merrick’s persistence causes another tragedy, and he must remake his life, including going back to medical school, in an attempt to make amends and win her love.
Review: When I grabbed this Movie from work I did prepare my self for over the top 50s melo-drama, but I actually got a beautiful story. There are some scenes where I did have to roll my eyes a little but they captured the whole Movie really well and the romance is quite lovely. Rock Hudson is a handsome man and a shame he died four years before I was born. I am on a mission now to see other films he was in. If there is any of the Movies I watched this weekend I must insist that you watch this one. This movie is based on the novel written by Lloyd C. Douglas.
Five Stars.

Somewhere in Time (1980):

Starring: Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour
Plot Summary: Young writer Richard Collier is met on the opening night of his first play by an old lady who begs him to “Come back to me”. Mystified, he tries to find out about her, and learns that she is a famous stage actress from the early 1900s, Elise McKenna. Becoming more and more obsessed with her, he manages, by self hypnosis, to travel back in time where he meets her. They fall in love, a matching that is not appreciated by her manager. Can their love outlast the immense problems caused by their “time” difference? And can Richard remain in a time that is not his?
Review: I did not have high hopes for an 80s Movie on time travel but I was quite impressed. It also has a lovely romance behind it based on a book of the same title by Richard Matheson. There is a little bit of 80s cheese in it, like when he suddenly gets thrown back to his own time, but the rest is done really well that you can look past it. And honestly who doesn’t mind a bit of Cheese every now?
Four Stars.

Thanks for looking! I hope you all had a good weekend too!

❤ MaSucree

Leave a Reply

