Delindel’s Affordable Makeup Wantlist for Poor Students

31 Aug

So ever since MaSucree and I started this blog she’s made me more and more interested in makeup. I have makeup of course, quite a bit of it because of my sister-in-law being a makeup artist and giving me any shades etc she doesn’t want anymore.  I’ve never really gotten into wearing it so much, mostly because I’ve never really known how.

During the years that most girls learn how to use makeup, I was a teenage girl living alone with my dad. I was more interested in reading books and being generally nerdy. I never felt the pressure to try to make myself pretty with makeup. I even managed to score myself a husband without having to learn how to apply makeup!

Since I got my job at Overland though, I’ve become much more interested in makeup and fashion. The fashion part is mostly taken care of by City Chic, my favourite store because I’m a size XS 😉 The makeup part however, is ever so slightly more difficult for me. It’s a difficult need to satisfy when I don’t have a clue what I’m doing.

Enter an awesome combination of other girls at work, MaSucree, and beauty bloggers! My current blogger obsession is Nihrida. She does some truly amazing eye makeup looks! SO here’s a small list I’ve compiled that by no means covers everything I want. Pretty much everything in here has come from Nihrida and MaSucree’s recommendations. BTW, I don’t own any of the photos in this post – click the pictures for the original source 🙂

e.l.f Eyelid Primer in Nude. I have quite red eyelids so it would be nice to have a nude base to work with.

e.l.f All Over Color Stick in Persimmon. Looks super smooth and easy to use!

Kleancolor Nail Lacquer in every colour imaginable. Seriously completely love this brand, I already have another 10 bottles being sent from the US right now! … Yes, 10. (Go to BeautyJoint where they’re only US$1.75 each – unfortunately most cheap cosmetic company websites from overseas won’t ship to NZ)

NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in a few shades. Very versatile, according to Nihrida the “Milk” shade is very good as an eyeshadow base too. US$2.99 on Beauty Joint.

NYX Single Eyeshadows – such a great range of colours, and so so affordable. They’re only US$3.75 each on Beauty Joint.

NYX Round Lipsticks – I’ve heard great things about these from Nihrida’s blog. Very affordable, great colours, and also apparently fantastic to use. Only US$1.99 on Beauty Joint.

Sleek i-Divine Palettes in Storm and Original – Nihrida did a few looks with the other colour palettes Sleek has – gorgeous colours, very affordable, and with a high recommendation from a beauty blogger! 😛

Everything ZA – by far my favourite brand despite their frustrating website. Easiest place to get them in NZ is at any Farmers. I’m particularly fond of their True White Foundation, which MaSucree introduced me to, and I currently use the Dewy Effect Emulsion daily. I use 2 of their lipsticks (Honey Rouge and Rose Toffee) and absolutely adore my Dramatic Eye Colour palette in Gold. Check them out if you haven’t already!

So there you have it! A small sampler of cheap pretty makeup that I want. There are many many other brands and products I would love to try, but for a girl on a budget, I think I’ll start with these!

What do you guys think? Do you have any other suggestions/recommendations for me?

-Del xx

Leave a Reply

