Delindel Does Something Distinctly Girly

15 Aug

So I woke up this morning, and felt excited at the prospect of having the house to myself! That’s the best thing about having Mondays off uni, the boys are out of the house until at least 6pm. I formulated plans in my mind: plans to craft all day and make an amazing dinner for the lads. Unfortunately I ended up watching How I Met Your Mother for most of the day while playing with my new mini straightener.

I have never actually used a hair straightener before, just as I have never coloured my hair either. I’ve always been quite lazy about being a girl and doing girly things like putting on makeup every day and actually doing my hair. Most days I roll out of bed, have a shower and wash my hair, then leave the house with wet hair that I don’t even bother to brush. Yes, I am aware of how terrible a practice this is…

Today however, since it was a day off and I didn’t have anything that absolutely HAD to be done, I rolled out of bed nice and late, and had the rare shower in which I did NOT wash my hair… Afterwards I looked something like this…

Yes, that’s how I look when I haven’t been up long.

I started watching my show (I’ve been watching the whole lot from the very beginning, today I transitioned from season 4 to season 5), and sat down with my new mini straightener. I had fun experimenting with it, to see what worked for my hair, and eventually came out with actually straight (relatively…) hair for once!

After I straightened it… I decided to play around and see if I could figure out how to curl my hair with it. This progressed slowly and I’m still not 100% sure I have the twisting motions right, but eventually I ended up with this…

Excuse the bow, I was trying to disguise the fact that my hair looks terrible if I don’t wash it every day. P.S. I hate this photo but it’s really hard to get photos of yourself when no else is home…

Here’s a couple more GPOYs. I like how the sun is shining on my hair in these ones. I’m quite vain about my natural hair colour, hence the never-coloured-it thing.

So, for the verdict! This mini straightener is pretty great, especially for a straightening noob like me… yeah okay, I’m just a hair noob. It’s small and easy to manoeuvre, and works very well for short hair. Using it for curling is definitely a function I’m going to be utilising a lot more as I become more comfortable with actually making an effort with my hair. I definitely think however, that it will prove to be much more effective if I wash and dry my hair before using it again!

For those of you wondering if you should get a mini straightener, I would definitely recommend it, especially if you have thinner hair or intend to mainly use it for straightening small portions (like a fringe) or curling. Plus at only around $25.99 (mine was from Unichem Pharmacy on Queen St), it’s very affordable and not too big a loss if you decide you don’t like it!

That’s all from me today, maybe tomorrow I’ll post a brief how-to for crumbing schnitzel… the Delindel way. (FYI, it’s awesome and delicious). I’ll see how I feel!

Look out for MaSucree’s book review tomorrow!

-Del x

2 Responses to “Delindel Does Something Distinctly Girly”

  1. Teigs August 15, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    The curls came out very 1950’s ^_^ You did a very good job! Your hair colour is friggin awesome!

    • domesticminxes August 15, 2011 at 9:22 am #

      Why thank you! We’ll have to try it with your hair next time!!
      -Del x

Leave a Reply

